Toronto Transit Commission York University subway station is officially open!

Posted on
new ttc subway stops

Located in the heart of the York University campus, the $120-million facility is one of six new stops on the TTC’s Toronto-York Spadina Subway Extension project and has been called “Toronto’s most stunning subway station” by BlogTO. The station, which is 100 steps from Schulich’s main entrance, connects the School to the core of the financial district.

“The newly opened York University subway station – located directly across from Schulich’s main entrance – will transform the campus,” said Schulich Dean Dezsö J. Horváth. “Students are now able to finish class and get downtown in less than half an hour.”

The new subway station will improve access and significantly reduce the number of buses entering the University. The York University and Pioneer Village Subway stations are part of an 8.6kms-six stations extension. This extension stretches from Sheppard West Station (formerly Downsview Station) northwest through York University within the City of Toronto and north to the Vaughan Metropolitan Centre, in the Regional Municipality of York.

The extension connects with municipal rapid transit lines, Brampton’s Züm, York Region Transit/Viva, (Viva/Next BRT), as well as the GO Transit regional buses at the Highway 407 Subway Station.

York community members arriving on campus from the municipal and regional transit service providers still arrive and depart from Keele campus as normal. Riders do not need to leave their buses at any of the new stations; they will arrive and depart from the Keele campus as they are accustomed to doing.

York University encourages riders to visit the websites of their specific transit service providers for the most up to date schedule and routing information. If you have questions, you can also visit the University Transportation Services FAQ page.

TTC Buses

As of Dec. 17, 2017, TTC bus service from the Harry Arthurs Common was discontinued and all TTC buses are now located at the Pioneer Village Subway Station. All TTC buses will service York University from the new Pioneer Village Subway station.

For more information about routes servicing the Keele campus, visit the TTC website.

All other transit buses continue to provide service to the Keele campus as before with some route changes and adjustments. Please visit the websites of the individual transit providers below for the most up to date information.

Brampton Transit (Züm) BUSES

Brampton Transit-Züm 501-501A-501C buses will continue to service the Keele campus from the current location— Ian Macdonald Blvd. Route 501 will also service the Vaughan Metropolitan Centre Station.

For more information about routes serving the Keele campus, visit the Brampton Transit website.

GO Transit

GO Transit buses continue to service the Keele campus from the Harry W. Arthurs Common.

There is now an additional stop on GO bus service: buses will be stopping at the new Highway 407 Station. GO riders can stay on the bus and continue to York University.

The York U GO train station located on Canarctic Drive, east of Keele Street is operating as usual.

For more information about routes serving the Keele campus, visit the GO Transit’s website.

York Region Transit (YRT/Viva)

YRT/Viva, buses continue to service Keele campus from the current location on Ian Macdonald Blvd. Some routes may include additional stop(s) at Pioneer Village Station, Highway 407 Station and Vaughan Metropolitan Centre Station.

  • Route 10 now terminates at the Vaughan Metropolitan Centre Station.
  • Route 22A is replaced with the 96 Keele-Yonge.

For more information about Routes serving the Keele campus, visit the YRT/Viva website.

York University will share with the community any updates and changes that have been made by the transit agencies.